Berry good smoothie

…I couldnt help it. Sorry ha-ha. 

So, I never got into the smoothie fads. But I just realized that I need to run 10 miles in a month or so for the D.C. Cherry Blosson 10 miler! So, I’m trying this whole eat healthy for few weeks until the race. So I’ve started to do a post-workout smoothie (In addition to some variation of a healthy dinner)!

I actually do enjoy running. It’s a way to clear my head and to just get away from all the constant use of our technology, social media, tv, etc! I’m 100% guilty of it all. 

I got into running while I was at JMU – all thanks to my running-loving roommate. I also had some awesome running buddies that helped me overcome ….running maybe less than a mile downhill without stopping for a breather (hey, gotta start somehow). I even joined the JMU’s XC Club! That’s a big personal accomplishment. 



Running my first XC race! (….and apparently I can run with my eyes closed)

So…back to the smoothie!



mmmmhmm, even the colors are scrumptious looking!

Here’s what you’ll need for this berry yummy smoothie:

2- Strawberries

1cup of Blueberries

1 cup of Spinach (or kale) 

1/2 banana 

Silk soy milk – unsweetened 

Helios, Greek non fat kefir – vanilla 

Optional: 1-2 tablespoons of chia seeds (soak them in the water for 10-15 minutes before you blend it with your smoothie) – this gives that slight nutty flavor. Don’t add too much or it’ll be too gelatinous and create digestive difficulty. 

Directions: put all your ingredients into your blender/mixer. Mix. And…yum! Enjoy!



Don’t you just love strawberries? They’re sooooo good dipped in chocolate or in froyo!

….or in this very healthy smoothie we are making here..



Cup of spinach 



Some frozen blueberries

I used soy milk but I’ve tried it with almond milk too – they’re both good! Or normal non-fat milk will be fine too. Whatever you have in your refrigerator 🙂

And I’m not a big fan of Greek yogurt, but I think it makes a world of difference! You have to try it if you don’t do it already!! 



Pre mix phase 



And voila ~ 

 I couldn’t find a normal glass cup..so a mug had to do. It’s delicious and so refreshing after a nice run! 

I’m so glad we’re finally getting some sunshine to enjoy the outdoors and, hopefully no more snow!

So, I can’t recommend drinking this with rice….I’ll blog again real soon with something you CAN enjoy with rice. Until then..

Enjoy! -j

Leave a Reply

