Weekend trip to LA & SD

(SD as in San Diego!)

Hi guys! I took a short weekend trip to LA over Valentine’s Day and wanted to share some pictures. It was a beautiful weekend filled with good food and great company. Sorry in advance for the lack of food pictures 😱 SHOCKING! I know. I usually take pictures of everything I eat but now that I’ve been out to LA couple of times now, I’m pretending that I’m a LA local (but so far from it)!

I have a love/hate relationship with LA. The weather is great. The traffic is horrible. The food is amazing. The people are a hit or a miss. The LA atmosphere is energetic and relaxing. Etc!

Regardless, I’d never pass up on my trip to LA!


Cool atmosphere – Diakokuya in Sawtelle LA.

 The ramen I go at Diakokuya. It was good. I didn’t think it was “omg spectacular I must eat it everyday of my life” but the broth was flavorful and the portions were huge. I didn’t finish mine. I also prefer thicker noodles because it’s “meatier” and adds more substance to the ramen. This ramen had thinner noodles which I didn’t care for. I’d say 3 out of 5 stars. Because I’ve had better.

Saturday – off to San Diego! About 2 hour drive from LA.

 


 SNOOZE! Wow – delicious! Our waiter was also amazing and brought us his favorite pancake, on the house! I’d highly recommend stopping by if you’re in the area. There is a long wait. We put our name down and they texted us when our table was ready. It was about over an hour wait. Bloody Mary’s were yummy! I’d say 4 out 5 stars – because of the wait. But honestly, service was awesome, the food was great, and the atmosphere was fun!

  We then drove down to point loma – there’s a $10 car fee. But it was very scenic. You can apparently go into the caves if the tides are low enough but we didn’t get the chance that day. That’s for another time!

  
    

Of course, can’t leave SD without fish tacos. We went to a place called Pacific Beach Fish Shop. Tacos are..swordfish, scallop, Hawaiian Ono. It was delicious. Although, I hear best tacos are found in “run down” establishments. I guess it’s because their food is so good that they don’t have to fluff up their business. We didn’t do that this time but will the next time I’m in SD! 3 out 5 stars. Atmosphere was great. Service was good and tacos were yummy. It was average as in I think I’ve had better tacos.

We drove to La Jolla cove later that afternoon but was too dark for good picture. But it was…smelly. As soon as we got out of the car, you’re just pelted with this strong pungent fishy smell. It’s the sea lions! We watched them for awhile and headed back home (LA).

Back in LA. My flight back to DC was cancelled on Monday due to weather, so I had an extra day in sunny CA! We used that extra day outdoors. Biked around, hiked, and played in the Pacific Ocean.  
    Promenade.

 Venice/Santa Monica beach
Marina Del Rey

 Venice beach 

 Hiking in Malibu

That wraps up my weekend in LA & SD. Currently missing the warm 80’s LA weather as I’m bundled up in my cozy apartment back in DC pretending that it’s not 35 degrees outside. Can’t wait for my next trip to the west coast 😎

Leave a Reply

